

# COHS Faculty Assembly Executive Committee Meeting Minutes

Wednesday, April 13, 2022, at 3:00-4:00 p.m. Remote via Zoom

#### Members Present:

Chair

Kam Kalantar-Zadeh, MD, MPH, PhD Michelle Fortier, PhD Melissa Pinto, PhD Claudia Benavente, PhD Brian Cummings, PhD

Michael Hoyt, PhD Leslie Thompson, PhD Olivier Civelli, PhD

# Members Not Present:

Rufus Edwards, PhD

## **Ex-Officio Members Present**

- Jan Hirsch, PhD: Founding Dean, School of Pharmacy & Pharmaceutical Sciences
- Michael Stamos, MD: Dean, School of Medicine

#### **Ex-Officio Members Not Present**

- Steven Goldstein, MD, PhD: Vice Chancellor, Health Affairs
- Mark Lazenby, RN, PhD, FAAN: Dean, Sue & Bill Gross School of Nursing
- Bernadette Boden-Albala, DrPh: Founding Dean, Program in Public Health

#### **Standing Committee Chairs Present**

Affiliated Health:

Alexandre Chan, PharmD, MPH Interdisciplinary Research: Andrej Luptak, PhD Space Resource Allocation Advisory

Andrej Luptak Planning & Budget Anjan Batra, MD

### Standing Committee Chairs Not Present

Rules, Jurisdiction, and Organization Candace Burton, PhD Inter-professional Education: Robert Edwards, MD, PhD

Library

Louhua Jiang, MD, PhD

#### **Guests Present:**

Dr. Joanna Ho, Senate Chair

Dr. George Striedter, Senate Chair Elect

Jisoo Kim, Senate Executive Director

Dr. Sheefteh Khalili, PhD: Associate Vice Chancellor of Administration

Rebecca James-Brusuelas: Associate Dean, Administration of Finance, School of Medicine; Associate Vice Chancellor, Finance, College of Health Sciences

Frank Meyskens, Professor of Medicine, SOM

#### **COHS Senate standing committees**

- 1. Executive Committee, and Committee on Committees, Chair: Dr Kalantar
- 2. Interprofessional Education Committee (IPEC), Chair: Dr Edwards
- 3. Interdisciplinary Research Committee (IDRC), Chair: Dr Luptak



- 4. Rules, Jurisdiction and Organization Committee (PJOC), Chair: Dr Burton
- 5. Planning and Budget Committee (PBC), Chair: Dr Batra
- 6. Space and Resource Allocation Committee (SRAC), Chair: Dr Luptak
- 7. Affiliated Health Committee (AHC), Chair: Dr Chan
- 8. Library Committee, Chair: Dr Jiang
- Minutes Review and Chair's Comments
  - January 2022 Amended A motion was made by Michelle Fortier to approve the minutes.
     Andrej Luptak second the motion. No opposed or abstained.
  - March 2022 with updated COHS bylaws. A motion was made by Anjan Batra to approve the minutes. Brian Cummings second the motion. No opposed or abstained.
- Guest Speakers Prof. Joanna Ho, Senate Chair and Prof. George Striedter, Senate Chair Elect Opened Discussion – The Chair's main inquiry for the Senate was to affirm if the Assembly's status is Academic versus Administrative, to better define how to proceed. If academic, Faculty Shared Governance would be stipulated. The Senate representative responses were, it is a grey area due to the Assembly being unique and the only of its kind. It was determined by the Senate and others of the Assembly that the definition doesn't matter. The spirit is shared Governance regardless of the administrative versus academic status, and the goal is to streamline the committees to serve a better purpose. Several suggestions were made including but not limited to keeping the Assembly's EC and making the other committees Ad-hoc; to not create more committees, evaluating the existing for reduction; to revisit the bylaws versus not to touch the bylaws, amending accordingly if needed; and consult with Dr. Goldstein, the four Dean's, the other Vice Chancellors', as well as the Chancellor and the Provost for additional input. The Chair will initiate an exploratory taskforce to meet with all parties. The Assembly took differing sides to the task force or its advice and did not vote for or against, it would be a good exploration notwithstanding that the Assembly has the qualified body to make or evaluate such recommendations and decisions. Chair Kalantar stated that he will form the Exploratory Taskforce to meet with the leadership and will report back to the Executive Committee.
- COHS Website No discussion.
- EC Letterhead No discussion.
- Standing Committee Updates No discussion.

Meeting adjourned at 4:05 PM. The upcoming meeting is scheduled for May 11, at 3-4PM.

Respectfully Submitted,
Kam Kalantar-Zadeh, MD, MPH, PhD
College of Health Sciences Faculty Chair
Professor of Medicine, Pediatrics, Public Health and Nursing Sciences
Chief, Division of Nephrology, Hypertension and Kidney Transplantation